Members of C-SC faculty, staff receive experiential education certification


Tags: Experiential, Culver-Stockton

Members of C-SC faculty, staff receive experiential education certification


CANTON, Mo. — Seventeen members of Culver-Stockton College’s faculty and staff were certified by the National Society for Experiential Education after completing workshops in May and August.

As part of its Higher Learning Commission accreditation, Culver-Stockton is completing a quality initiative that includes establishing a center for experiential learning, creating and implementing an assessment of experiential education, and training faculty through an Experiential Education Academy offered by the NSEE, a national resource center based in Mount Royal, N.J., that assists with the development and improvement of experiential education programs nationwide.

The academy consists of six courses: Fundamentals of Experiential Education, Principles of Ethical Practice, Reflection, Assessment, Legal Issues and Service Learning.

C-SC faculty members who earned certification were:

Kanwal Alvarez, assistant professor of biology;
Fred Berger, senior lecturer in communication;
Seth Campbell, assistant professor of theatre;
Megan Catalano, director of residence life;
Kay Dyer, lecturer in foreign languages;
Tammy Ellison, director and lecturer in instructional technology and design;
Joni Fusselman, lecturer in education;
Robin Jarvis, director of career and internship services;
Kendall Kirkham, coordinator of student success and lecturer in developmental education;
Angel Knoverek, assistant professor of psychology;
Matthew Osborn, senior lecturer in business;
Sarah Reardon, lecturer in biology;
John Reinhardt, lecturer in accounting;
Esa Seegulam, associate professor of biology;
Joe Skertich, assistant professor of music;
Kelli Stiles, assistant professor of psychology;
Brian Walker, lecturer in physical education.

Seventy-five percent of the Culver-Stockton faculty is certified by the NSEE as of August 2019, with plans to have 100 percent of the faculty certified.


For more information, contact David Adam, Media Content Specialist, at or 573-288-6312.

PHOTO CAPTION: Front row from left: Megan Catalano, Sarah Reardon, Deb Myers, Robin Jarvis, Joni Fusselman, Kelli Stiles, Tammy Ellison, Seth Campbell, Kanwal Alvarez. Back row from left: Esa Seegulam, Kay Dyer, Joe Skertich, John Reinhardt, Angel Knoverek, Brian Walker, Matthew Osborn, Fred Berger. Not Pictured: Kendall Kirkham.