State Authorization

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) was established in 2013 by higher education stakeholders – including state regulators and education leaders, accreditors, the U.S. Department of Education, and institutions. 

"The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement is a voluntary agreement among its member states and U.S. territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance-education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state.” - NC-SARA

Compliance with state authorization regulations is required by the federal government for institutions to be eligible for federal financial aid and each States requires institutions to obtain approval for regulated activities that occur in their state. The requirements vary by state and may include online learning, practical experiences, faculty in the state, marketing, advertising, etc.

Culver-Stockton College is a member of the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) and is authorized to offer online degrees in all 50 states.