Culver-Stockton College, (C-SC), a private liberal arts college offering 80 major and minor tracks, recognized 45 high school students who competed in the 40th Annual C-SC Pillars for Excellence competition for an opportunity to receive a full-tuition scholarship.

C-SC Pillars Scholars gain eligibility into the program by being accepted to the college and having maintained at least a 3.75 cumulative grade point average in high school. The students must complete a tour with a campus ambassador, attend a session with the Pillars Scholar committee, and submit an essay pertaining to a current event.

“We were certainly impressed with the essays submitted by participants of this year’s Pillars for Excellence competition,” said Dr. Lauren Schellenberger, president of C-SC. “The thought-provoking, intelligent responses to the given topic are a clear indication that they are ready to dive deep into Culver-Stockton’s academic environment as they prepare for an exciting and challenging world beyond college.”

Full-tuition Pillars for Excellence scholarships are awarded to highly qualified freshmen with exceptional intellectual ability. Outstanding competitors who do not receive the full-tuition scholarship receive a $1,000 C-SC scholarship.

All Pillars Scholars receive an increase of $500 in travel study grants in addition to the $1,500 in grants that all students can accrue during their four years at C-SC. Scholars can potentially receive $2,000 in travel study funding, which can be used for fees during domestic or international travel courses.

In addition to financial awards, Pillars Scholars are admitted into the college’s Honors Program, which features a comprehensive leadership course, a service-project course, academic mentorship with a research project, exclusive seminar and conference opportunities, and recognition during a congratulatory luncheon and during the college’s commencement ceremony.

This year’s C-SC Pillars for Excellence competition honorees are:

Aiden Abraham, Loveland, CO

Sydney Barkley, Chesterfield, MO

Zoah Beard, Sheman, IL

Marah Becks, Quincy, IL

Aiden Benda, Fort Madison, IA

Evan Best, Moscow Mills, MO

Emily Bishop, Mount Juliet, TN

Maddie Bradshaw, Payson, IL

Chloe Brown, Hannibal, MO

Gabriela Bryan, Abingdon, IL

Jasmine Burks, Clayton, MO

Alexis Clark, Pacific, MO

Karli Crandall, Palmyra, MO

Genna Evans, West Liberty, IA

Aubrie Ferguson, Quincy, IL

Kaitlyn Ferguson, Iowa Park, TX

Johan Fernandez, Decatur, AL

Marcella Frank, Mount Sterling, IL

Julian Garza, Houston, TX

Hailie Hark, Hannibal, MO

Lucas Henriquez, Katy, TX

Hannah Hill, Pleasant Hill, IL

Addison Holm, Lake Saint Louis, MO

Tagr Holmes, Carpenter, WY

Max Howerton, Fort Smith, AR

Sophia Lindall, El Cajon, CA

Michelle Marecki, Lombard, IL

Chloe Mashburn, Cibolo, TX

Rylie McNamee, Manchester, MO

Abagail Mooney, Silex, MO

Brady Mullen, Creighton, MO

Kaley Payton, Ewing, MO

Tristen Pitford, Kahoka, MO

Kolbe Poos, Lees Summit, MO

Elizabeth Reed, Washington, MO

Tennesyn Rohman, Bailey, CO

Ava Sanker, Lake St Louis, MO

Tailer Senn, Billings, MT

Elaina Smith, Quincy, IL

Colten Steiner, Godfrey, IL

Austin Strubbe, Beardstown, IL

Emily Vatterott, Festus, MO

Sydnie Willis, Draper, UT

Haylie Wortham, Hendersonville, TN

Zacchery Zrebiec, Las Vegas, NV

Contact the Marketing & Public Relations Office, at or 573-288-6000 ext. 6728 for more information.

NOTE: A number that appears immediately after a person’s name (i.e. Jane Doe ’18) is a reference to the year that person earned their bachelor’s degree from Culver-Stockton.

News Archives